Spinach Cheese Swirls


Hello friends! Happy Fourth of July! Hope you’ve had a great day filled with barbecues and fireworks and food and more food. 🙂 I was extremely happy about not having to go to school today. Agh. Summer school is the worst!

No school = baking time!


I was actually pretty sad because this was not my original idea for what I was going to make and write about today. I was going to make red white and blue Popsicles (Pinterest currently has me on a Popsicle addiction. SO many ideas!) However, I didn’t have any Popsicle sticks so that couldn’t happen. (Is it weird that I can’t find them at Target? Do I have to buy them at Michael’s? Very strange.) But don’t you worry, as soon as I get myself some Popsicle sticks, this place is gonna be filled with Popsicles! Yay!

However, I remembered that I hadn’t made these in a long time, so perfect opportunity for an easy snack/appetizer! These look a little fancy and hard to make, but in fact, they’re really easy, and taste great!


I didn’t even realize how much stuff you can make with puff pastry sheets! (I use Pepperidge Farm’s Puff Pastry sheets.) Normally, I just use them to make egg rolls (curry puff). But Pinterest (as always) opened my eyes to a whole new world of opportunities! I love Pinterest.

Anyway. These are really yummy! Try them!

The first time I made this a while ago, 1. I didn’t drain the spinach completely and 2. The dough got too soft. When these two things happen, it gets really hard to cut the roll into 20 thin slices and it ends up getting really messy. So make sure you drain the spinach completely and right before slicing, freeze the dough for half an hour, it helps a ton! Also, make sure not to go overboard with the egg wash, or else the pinwheels will taste way too egg-y.

Side note- I took these pictures with my new phone! (The iPhone SE.) Yay! Ah so exciting to have a new phone with a nice camera whose battery lasts more than one hour…. (My last phone had so many problems it was actually ridiculous.)

Anyway. Enjoy!

Yield: 20 swirls 

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monteey Jack cheese or mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 green onion, chopped (optional)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 pkg. of a 17.3-ounce package Puff Pastry Sheets (1 sheet), thawed for 40 min
  • 1 pkg. (about 10 ounces) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°F. In a small bowl, beat the egg and water. In a medium sized bowl, mix the cheeses, green onion, garlic powder, and salt.

Lightly flour your work surface and unfold the thawed puff pastry. Brush pastry sheet with the egg mixture. Top with the cheese mixture and then the spinach.

Starting at the short side closest to you, roll up the sheet like a jelly roll. To do this, fold up the edge closest to you a centimeter in, which should make it easier to continue rolling. Make sure to roll as tightly as possible without ripping the pastry.

Wrap the roll in plastic wrap and freeze for 30 minutes. Remove from freezer and cut roll into about 20 slices. I cut the roll into fourths, and then cut each of the fourths into five slices. Place the slices, cut-side down, onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Brush slices with egg mixture.

Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm.

Love,

F.

Slightly adapted recipe from: Pepperidge Farm: Spinach Cheese Swirls

7 thoughts on “Spinach Cheese Swirls

  1. These look super amazing! I also just discovered the beauty of puff pastry thanks to Ina Garten’s ham and cheese puff pastry appetizer, it is seriously so good! If you’re still looking for popsicle molds, Amazon has a lot of really neat options. I just got some Sunsella silicone popsicle molds off Amazon in the mail today, and cannot wait to try them out. Dishwasher safe, reusable and under $12!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much! And ooh that’s great sounds good! I really want to make more things with puff pastry now! Also, I have an old Popsicle mold but it’s really small (so sad :() so I was looking into getting a new one. Thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Those molds are actually to make the type of popsicles that don’t have sticks (they’re usually in plastic, and sold unfrozen at the store). I’m sure Amazon probably has a million styles though, can’t wait to see what combinations you come up with!

        Like

What do you think about this?

