Chocolate Crackle Cookies + Coming back to life after 66 days….


Wow, has is really been 66 days? That’s a really long time. I missed you blogosphere! 

I said I would blog more consistently, buuuuut college happened. Oops? It started out okay, most of my time spent commuting and eating because hellllooo I go to school in the city, what do you expect? But then suddenly a research paper came and consumed my life. So that was fun. But I’m finally finally done with my first semester of college! Yay! Adultness! (Just kidding, I don’t feel like an adult. I went back to  my high school to talk to my favorite teacher a couple days ago…he says I still look 16 and always will…. Fantastic. At least I won’t have to worry about looking old later on?)

In other news, I’ve taken up rock climbing! Whoo! (I know I know, it’s very uncharacteristic of me. Trust me, everyone is shocked.) But I’m not gonna go on and on about that because that’s what I’ve spent the last two months doing, and anyone that knows me will likely stop reading if they see anything else about rock climbing. Ah well. Moving on.

 
I will go on and on about winter and these cookies though! I don’t know if it’s just me, but these cookies seem like winter to me. It’s probably the powdered sugar, isn’t it? I love how these cookies look, the chocolate peeking out of the white, sugary exterior! Speaking of winter, it’s snowing on my blog, did you notice? Look at the very top by the header! How exciting 🙂 I love snow…well, looking at it at least. I’ve started to hate it because now I have to drive in it…is this really what adulthood feels like…?

Anyway, chocolate crackle cookies! First time I had these years ago, they were made from this mix I found at Costco. (My little brother and I thought they were magical.) When I went back to get more, however, I could never find them again. (Sigh, my sad life.) I only recently realized that I should just make these from scratch, so here we are! Yay! (Also, yes. The semi-festive wrapping paper backdrop was necessary.)  This recipe is pretty easy (and delicious), just try not to get powdered sugar eeeeverywhere! (It’s going to happen regardless.) The cookie tastes almost like a brownie, and I added a little extra chocolate to the recipe which I didn’t melt, so when these are warm out of the oven, ahhh they are melty chocolatey goodness. 

By the way, since I’ve been basically nonexistent in the kitchen for 66 days, I would like to make up for it during this one month of winter break that I have. If you have any suggestions for things I should bake, or any personal favorites that you’ve made and loved, please share! You can comment below or go on the Recipe Box page in the menu! (I also linked it right there.) Thanks! 

Happy start of the Holidays and holiday cookie making!

Yield: Approx. 48 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz. bittersweet chocolate
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Dutch cocoa powder
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 tbsps (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/3 cups light-brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup powdered sugar, plus more for rolling

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Chop the bittersweet chocolate. Melt 8 oz. in a microwave safe bowl in 30 second intervals, mixing after each interval, until completely melted. Set aside to cool.

In a medium sized bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. 

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter and brown sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, and beat until combined. Add melted chocolate and beat until combined. Mix in remaining chopped chocolate. On low speed, alternate adding milk and dry ingredients until dough is just combined. Divide the dough into four parts and wrap each in plastic wrap. Refrigerate about 2 hours, until firm. 

On a clean countertop or cutting board dusted with powdered sugar, roll each portion of dough into a log which is about 16 inches long and 1 inch thick. Use powdered sugar as needed to prevent stickiness. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes. 

Cut each log into 1 inch pieces. Toss pieces in powdered sugar, a few at a time. Roll each piece into a ball shape, and recover in powdered sugar if any dough is visible. 

Place onto cookie sheet covered with parchment paper, 2 inches apart. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until cookies have flattened and the sugar coating has cracked. Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool. 

Love,

Me

Slightly adapted recipe from: Martha Stewart: Chocolate Crackle Cookies

What do you think about this?

