Avocado Shrimp Tostadas with Chipotle Crema


Hello hello, mis amigos bonitos!

Wow guys, school has started, and I am insanely tired. I wake up, drive, get on the train, get on the bus, go to school, get on the bus, get on the train (which I am on as I write this), drive home, and finally, SLEEP. My life is so hard, honestly. (Note that I do not include homework, because who does that?) But serious issue: when am I supposed to blog!? Before blogging, when am I supposed to make food to blog about!? UGH SCHOOL. I don’t think you’re going to be seeing much of me until Thanksgiving break, or maybe even Christmas break? Sigh. Wait wait hang on, back to school: today I found the quiet section of library oh my god it was so nice to study there! Okay back to what I was saying.

Wait I was still talking about school? What is my writing? How can any of you read this? (I love you all, my readers.) Since this only the first week of school, I still have a little time! Also, I had avocados, and eating avocados when they are ripe is of the utmost priority, considering they are perfect for like, four seconds of their lifespans, so obviously, I made Avocado Shrimp tostadas! Well technically I did a couple weeks ago. Oops.   

Go ahead, say it. Oooh aaaah. (Man, that just looks awkward typed out.) Anyway.

Tostadas are like hard shell tacos, but slightly smaller and are flat, not curved. (Maybe there are different sized tostadas, I have yet to figure that out.) It’s a little bit of a balancing game while eating these, especially if you pile on the toppings like I did (Hey, don’t judge! I had perfect avocados, remember!)

If you don’t like tostadas, you can also make this with soft or hard shell tacos. I really don’t like the shape of hard shell tacos-they drive me insane! Nothing stays in and its so hard to eat! Things that taste great but are too hard to eat- especially when theres people watching- make me pretty upset. They might even be in the list of top ten things that drive me bonkers. (I just said bonkers….)

I ramble too much, maybe.

So here we are. Tostadas. (That means toasted in Spanish, apparently.) Bienvenidos. That means welcome (I know, I know, I’m basically a pro at Spanish) but I don’t really know why I decided to throw that in there. I guess I was going to say bon appetit, but I said that a blog post or two ago, but I wanted to say something similar and I couldn’t think of anything, and actually I’m supposed to be doing Spanish homework so here we are. I already said here we are too. At least I didn’t launch into a story about why I said here we are, again. Okay really, the rambling must stop. If you actually read all of that, you deserve an award or something.

Speaking of awards! Which do you think is better, a trophy or a plaque? Trophies are so nice and pretty and have I mentioned pretty? But then even though plaques don’t look as nice, they look fancy, and it seems like you’ve done something really important. I can’t decide!

Ah food. I feel like making these again now.

Yield: 8-10 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs cooked, frozen shrimp
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 3 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 1/4 cups fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 4 Avocados
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 6 oz. sour cream
  • 1 can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

Directions:

Defrost and devein the shrimp. In a large bowl, add the shrimp, 1 tbsp olive oil, 2 tsp salt, pepper, and chili powder and toss the shrimp.

Heat a pan to medium-high heat. Add the remaining 1 tbsp of olive oil to the pan. Add shrimp and 3/4 cup cilantro; cook for about 3 minutes per side.

To make the avocado mixturec, cut the avocados into cubes by slicing each in half, removing the pit, cutting horizontal and vertical lines (forming a grid of squares) and squeeze the avocados out into a medium sized bowl. Add lime juice, 1 tsp salt, cumin, coriander, and the remaining cilantro, and mix.

To make the chipotle crema, blend the sour cream and 2-4 chipotle peppers in a small bowl, until smooth. (I use 4 peppers , but this can be changed to make it more or less spicy.)

Top tostadas with avocados, bell pepper, onion, shrimp, and chipotle crema. Serve immediately.

Sigh, time to do homework I suppose. (Just kidding. Netflix.)

-F.

Source: a Sprinkes and Short Stuff original

What do you think about this?

