Oreo Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting


I’m going off to college in a week. One week until the newest chapter of my life begins, and I’m so excited and so scared. (Scared mostly because I’m probably going to take the wrong train or bus or something somewhere in the city and end up in Canada or China, but it’s cool.)

I have to say goodbye to almost all of my friends, the people that I spent all my time with these last few years, and start anew. I’ll be all on my own, as an adult in a completely different world. I can no longer wake up 10 minutes before school, roll out of bed and walk across the street in time for my first period class. I will no longer be in a familiar environment surrounded by the people I’ve known all my life. I took comfort in knowing I would see these people everyday, that I’d be right here, with everyone, that this wouldn’t change for a long time, but now that long time is over, and about this, I am sad.

I will, however, be reunited with old friends, and make plenty of new ones. I’ll be able to study whatever I choose. I’ll have the newfound freedom to do what I want and go where I want and explore and live the life that I want. The unfamiliar people and places will become familiar and for that, I can’t wait. So college, here I come! (Lame? Yes, I know. Shh.)

Okay, onto cupcakes:  Raise your hand if you like Oreos! 🙋🏻 That’s right, all of you should be raising your hands, or I’m pretty sure that you’re reading the wrong blog here! Seriously, how can anyone not like Oreos….

But remember those cupcakes that I messed up on miserably that made me not want to make cupcakes for seven months? Yeah, they were these cupcakes. Apparently though, I just didn’t know how to read back then, because these are not that hard!

Also, can I just say that my pictures look so summery because I went through the effort of going outside (the horror). Plus it’s like I’m talking about summer ending+ outside in the summer = I’m cool.

 I basically love everything cookies and cream, because, really? Does that need any explanation? These cupcakes are no exception!

The cupcake is soft and sweet, but not too sweet, and has Oreo pieces inside. And the best part is the surprise Oreo on the bottom! (I really like how the cream tastes after it’s been baked.) The chocolate frosting, which may seem weird considering it has sour cream in it, (yeah, don’t tell people that, they’ll think you’re a little crazy) is actually probably the best chocolate frosting I’ve ever had. No argument. You can make the frosting without the sour cream if you want, but it gets harder because of the chocolate, and its not as good, so I would definitely keep the sour cream.   

Yield: 24 cupcakes

Ingredients: 

Cupcakes:

  • 24 Oreos, halved (save 12 of the other biscuits for later, below)
  • 24 Oreos, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup whole milk, divided
  • 6 large egg whites
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cup cake flour, sifted
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 12 tbsp. butter
  • Oreo crumbs
  • 12 Oreo wafers(from before), halved

Chocolate frosting:

  • 9.5 oz. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 6 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
  • 6 oz. butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
  • 4 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2/3 cup + 1 tbsp. sour cream

Directions:

To make the cupcakes, preheat oven to 350°F. Line cupcake tins with liners. Place the halved Oreos, cream side up, into each liner.

In a medium side bowl, combine 1/4 cup of the whole milk (be sure to use whole milk, not 2% or milk with less fat content because the cupcakes will end up drier), egg whites, and vanilla. Whisk to combine thoroughly.

In a large mixing bowl, or the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the cake flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Mix on low speed for about 30 seconds, until combined. Add butter and mix on low speed for about 30 seconds, until the mixture looks like wet sand. It may help to cut the butter into a few smaller pieces first.

Add the remaining 3/4 cup whole milk, increase the speed and mix until combined. Lower the speed and add the egg mixture in three parts, mixing until combined after each addition. Scrape down the bowl as needed. Fold in the chopped Oreos.

Divide the batter evenly between the liners. Bake for about 19 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of one of the cupcakes comes out clean. Cool in the pan for two minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely, then frost.

To make the frosting, melt the chocolate in a double boiler in a heat-proof bowl over simmering (not boiling) water. Stir continuously until melted. Set aside to cool until just warm.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and butter for 3-4 minutes, until fluffy. Gradually mix in the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, and salt. Beat in the melted chocolate. Then beat in the sour cream. Continue beating until the mixture is well blended and smooth. Frost immediately, before the chocolate hardens.

Garnish cupcakes with the 24 remaining Oreo wafer halves and Oreo crumbs.

Adios!

-F.

Original cupcake recipe from: Annie’s eats: cookies and cream cupcakes

Original frosting recipe from: Annie’s eats: cupcake basics: chocolate frosting

4 thoughts on “Oreo Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

What do you think about this?

