Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers


I don’t do a lot of real food recipes, and I’m pretty sure I haven’t done any healthy ones either…. No wait, I did Bell Pepper Quinoa Salad. That’s healthy! Yes! I’m not a failure! 


I tried this for the first time this week, and lemme tell you… it was a success. Man, who knew healthy food could be so good, and so easy to make!

Also, can I just apologize for that picture!? My family was too impatient for me to find better lighting for a picture. 😦 Sorry! I promise I’ll take a better picture next time I make it!

Quinoa is super healthy, loaded with iron and fiber and magnesium and all that good stuff (yes, I did my research just for you). And it’s also really easy to make.

It’s a 1:3 ratio of uncooked to cooked quinoa, so one cup of uncooked quinoa makes three cups cooked quinoa. The ratio of uncooked quinoa to the water or chicken/ vegetable stock (gives it more flavor) needed to cool it is 1:2. I make it on the stove, but if you want, you can even make it in your rice cooker! You can get some more information about quinoa and how to cook it here: The kitchn: How To Cook Fluffy, Tasty Quinoa.

I really like this recipe because of how easy it is (Yes, I know I mentioned that twice already, but I’m reiterating becuase I like easy to do things… I’m lazy.), and becuase of all the yummy Southwestern (I guess that’s what it’s called right?) flavors! And the cheese! Also, the recipe is vegetarian, and I personally find it hard to find vegetarian recipes I really like, so yayy! I have something to feed my vegetarian friends now! (Just kidding, I’m not sharing.)

Also, this recipe is adaptable. You can make it non-vegetarian and add ground beef or shredded chicken. You can also make it extra vegetarian and add vegetables (who would have thought) like chopped eggplant and zucchini (but vegetables are ew so no).

Yield: 5-6 servings 

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 bell peppers
  • 5-6 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and black pepper, for seasoning
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped, 2 or green chiles, chopped (can be altered depending on how spicy you want it to be)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced, or 1 tbsp of ginger-garlic paste
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup corn kernels
  • 1/2 cup diced tomato
  • 3/4 cup black beans
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese (or pepper jack, or a 4 cheese Mexican blend)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375° F. Cut bell peppers in half, and remove the seeds and veins. Rub the  bell peppers with 1-2 tbsp of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper on both sides. Bake cavity side down for 13 minutes.

To make the quinoa filling, add 2 tbsp of olive oil to a medium sized pot over medium heat, and heat for one minute. Sauté the onions, peppers, and garlic (or ginger-garlic paste) until the onions start to soften. Mix in the uncooked quinoa and cook for one minute. Add the vegetable stock, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and salt. Mix and bring to a boil. Once it boils, cover the pot, bring down to a simmer, and cook for 15 minutes.

Once the quinoa has cooked, keep the pot on low heat and add the corn, tomatoes, cilantro, black beans, and 3/4 cup of the cheese. Carefully mix for 2-3 minutes, until cheese melts. Be careful not to squish the beans and corn.

When the quinoa mixture and bell peppers are cooked, spoon the quinoa into each bell pepper cavity. Place bell peppers vanity side up onto baking sheet, and cook for 13 minutes. Add the remaining cheese on top of the quinoa in the last 3 minutes of baking.

Serve immediately.

Bon apetit! (This is me trying to be fancy…and failing. I’ll leave now….)

-F.

Adapted recipe from: A Beautiful Mess: Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

What do you think about this?

