Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes


It has been 8 months and 11 days since I last made cupcakes. 8 months and 11 days since that horrible, terrible, not good, very bad day (hehe). 8 months and 11 days since I enacted a ban on one of my favorite foods.

But today! Today, this has changed! I have rescinded my ban on cupcakes! I have embraced them once more! I have welcomed them back into my life and will enjoy their scrumptious, glorious, deliciousness once more!

IMG_2150
 

This is one of my favorite recipes for cupcakes, because it’s actually one of the first recipes I tried making from scratch. Since that day, this has become my to-go cupcake recipe. I know it’s pumpkin and it’s more of a fall thing, but I still like making them all the time. <!–more–>

 Speaking of which, I know some of you may be turned away from this because of the pumpkin, but I’m not a pumpkin fan either. I don’t like pumpkin pie, and I have to not smell while I’m pouring the pumpkin purée into the batter. (Yes, really.) But somehow, I absolutely love these. Maybe it’s because the pumpkin taste is not too prominent and is perfectly complimented by the cream cheese frosting. (Which is, by the way, my favorite frosting.) 

 By the way, don’t you just love that colorful cheetah print thing cupcake liner? Apparently it’s all the rage amongst three year olds.

Yield: 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted 
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 can (13-15 ounces) pumpkin purée

Cream cheese frosting:

  • 16 oz. cream cheese, chilled
  • 6 tbsp butter, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups powdered sugar

Directions: 

To make the cupcakes, preheat oven to 350°F. Line cupcake pans with cupcake liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg.

In a separate, large bowl, combine the brown sugar, sugar, butter, and eggs. Slowly add the dry mixture, whisking after each addition, until smooth. Whisk in the pumpkin purée.

 Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake liners. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and cool for about 10 minutes, then remove from the cupcake pans and let cool completely.

 To make the frosting, combine the cream cheese and butter with an electric beater, until smooth. Mix in the vanilla. Gradually add the powdered sugar and continue mixing until smooth. Frost cupcakes as desired.

Love, 

 F. 

Slightly adapted cupcake recipe from: Martha Stewart: Pumpkin Cupcakes

Adapted frosting recipe from: Annie’s Eats: cupcake basics: cream cheese frosting

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

What do you think about this?

