Pasta Salad: Labor Day BBQ


So it’s Labor Day! (Well. It was.) Barbecue time! Whoo! That means it is time for all the favorites! Hot dogs! Burgers! Potato Salad! (Do not even get me started on my feelings about potato salad. Bad idea.) Guacamole! Seven Layer Dip! (coming soon) Pasta Salad! S’mores!!! (I don’t think normal people have s’mores at bbq’s but I really don’t care.) Too much good stuff. Ahh. My madre (I don’t know why I call her madre lol) taught me how to make Pasta Salad today! It’s surprisingly simple, and really good.

But before I tell you how to make it, a quick note on a Labor Day. Who knows what Labor Day is? Raise your hands! (Just kidding, what if you’re standing in the middle of your kitchen while chopping some peppers and you suddenly decide to raise your hands? I think people would think you’re a little weird. Which is totally alright, like hello, I’m saying this. But anyway.) I had no idea what Labor Day was for. Like work and stuff maybe? I don’t know. So of course, I used handy dandy Google to enlighten me! Whoo. Labor Day is a dedication to the hard work and the achievements of Americans. It was founded by Peter McGuire (or perhaps it was Matthew McGuire. No one knows.) and the first one was celebrated in 1882. So. There’s your history lesson of the day.

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz box of pasta (I used Farafelle…does anyone call it that? I just say the bow tie kind…)
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp vinegar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 can black olives, drained, rinsed, and sliced

Directions:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Place pasta in water and cook for 8-12 minutes, drain and let cool.

Once the pasta has cooled, transfer it to a large bowl. Gently mix in the bell peppers, olives, olive oil, vinegar, salt, black pepper, and cheeses.

Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Happy Labor Day! (Do people even say Happy Labor Day? Whatever. No school, might as well. ;))

xx

What do you think about this?

