Coconut Macaroons


First things first, I am not a coconut fan. However, for some odd reason, I felt like making these. (Yeah, I’m weird.) The last time I had these was a very long time ago, and so I didn’t remember how these tasted at all. These were pretty good though! Soft and chewy and fluffyish (I’m having adjective issues) and sweet! Even my non-coconut liking self liked them!

IMG_6808 (Edited) 

Ingredients:

  • 14 ounces sweetened, shredded coconut
  • 14 ounces sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 extra-large egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Optional: Chocolate (for dipping)

Directions

In a large bowl, mix together the shredded coconut, condensed milk, and vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl, whip the egg whites and salt, on high speed, in an electric beater, until medium-stiff peaks form. (This is important, because it determines how fluffy your macaroons will be. I didn’t beat them enough and they… deflated a little. Whoops. Also, make sure you do this step second, because if you do it first, you’ll just have to re-beat it, and it will get messed up. Believe me, I know.)

Carefully fold the egg whites into the coconut mixture.

Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown at the top. (You can also take it out right before it browns, depending on how you like your coconut. I like mine brown and crisper.)

Let cool for 20 minutes. If wanted, dip in chocolate and refrigerate until dry.

Enjoy! F.

Original recipe from: Food Network: Coconut Macaroons

4 thoughts on “Coconut Macaroons

What do you think about this?

